Blog Header Image



March 11, 2022

Member Spotlight - Uvis and Megan

Tell Us About Yourself:Uvis: 28 years old from from Valmiera, Latvia. Work for a trade shop as an operations analyst. Have lived in Houston for 2.5ish years now.Megan: My name is Megan! I grew up in Enid, Oklahoma, I went to undergrad/grad school and swam collegiately at Missouri State University (where I met Uvis), and am a pediatric Speech-Language Pathologist.How Long Have You Been A Member And How Did You Get Started At Cityside?We’ve been members for a little over a year. We moved to Houston about 2.5 years ago and started looking for a gym. We gave it a try last October and have been members ever since!What Do You Enjoy Most About Cityside?Uvis: I enjoy working out in a group setting, it brings a bit of a competitiveness to every workout. Programming is also very good and built with intention to support general fitness and build strength.Megan: I love the atmosphere at the gym, the people, and the coaches. The gym is full of really great people who make going to the gym enjoyable (even when the workout is tough).What Goals/Accomplishments Have You Achieved Since Joining?Uvis: I have gotten much better at Olympic lifts and some gymnastic movements.Megan: I have become much more comfortable with Olympic lifting (in general), lifting heavier, and being pushed out of my comfort zone. And after almost 9 years, I finally married Uvis in June 2021 ;)What Are Your Future Goals/Plans?Uvis: Just be more consistent with the workout routine and get a bit closer to where I was cardio wise back in college.Megan: Would love to keep getting stronger, improve on gymnastic movements, and maybe *one day* do a muscle up!

Continue reading